Home > PRACC News > Radio A Veterans, Taplin Trophy and Final Round of the 2011 PRACC

Radio A Veterans, Taplin Trophy and Final Round of the 2011 PRACC

October 11, 2011

A busy weekend for the Poole RYC saw different skippers entering for the Radio A Veteran Nationals (Sat 8th Oct) and final round of the PRACC event and Taplin Trophy (9th Oct)

Image by Mike Millard

This was the 1st large event staged at their newly licenced water at Longham Reservoirs, somewhere that I think we will be returning to. This good open water gave excellent racing on both days and with a strong top of No 1 Rig breeze the boats certainly showed their pace.

Roy Stevens sailing Vernon Appletons Sword narrowly beat Lester Gilbert and Chris Durant to take the 2011 Radio A Veterans title and some equally exciting racing on the Sunday saw Graham Bantock take the Taplin Trophy, beating Darin Ballington (by a long way) into 2nd place and Vernon Appleton 3rd.

Peter Wiles having already wrapped the series up acted as PRO for both days and despite the strong wind coming from an unfavourable direction tried his best to give everyone a fair course to sail.

The final Positions on Sunday were:
1. G Bantock
2. D Ballington
3. V Applteon
4. J White
5 R Steele

Full results will be posted later.

Mike Millard took some great photos which can be found here.

Categories: PRACC News
%d bloggers like this: